

# Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda

Monday, March 18, 2024

2:00-3:50 p.m. in the Krause Center for Innovation (4006) and  $\underline{Zoom}$ 

Meeting ID: 852 6325 9763 Passcode: 907559

Dial by your location: (669) 900-6833 or (408) 638-0968

2023-24 Executive Committee Members (31): Officers: Voltaire Villanueva (President), Patrick Morriss (Executive Vice President), Ben Kaupp (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Stephan Schnell; BSS: Brian Evans, Mona Rawal; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Leticia Serna; DRC/VRC: Ana Maravilla; FA/Comm: Robert Hartwell, Kate Jordahl; HSH: Rachelle Campbell, Frank Niccoli; KA: Rita O'Loughlin, Katy Ripp; LA: Rocio Giraldez Betron, Stephanie Chan; LRC: Destiny Rivera, Eric Reed; STEM: Sara Cooper; vacant; PT Reps: Roxanne Cnudde, Michael Chang; Other Members: ASFC: Joshua Agupugo; Classified: Adiel Velasquez; FacAssoc: Julie Jenkins; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of COOL: Allison Lenkeit Meezan; Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator(s): Stephanie Chan, Kerri Ryer; Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Stacy Gleixner;

### 3.18.24 AGENDA:

| #  | Time* | Topic  | Action** | Objective  | Presenter   | Supporting  |
|----|-------|--|----------|--|---|---|
|    |       |  |          |  |   | Materials***  |
| 1  | 2:00  | Call to Order  | В        |  | Villanueva  |   |
| 2  | 2:00  | Roll Call  | В        |  | Cormia  |   |
| 3  | 2:05  | Adoption of Agenda   | В        |  | Villanueva  |   |
| 4  | 2:05  | Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action) | -        |  |   |   |
| 5  | 2:10  | Approval of 3.04.24 Minutes  | В        |  | Villanueva  | • March 4, 2024   |
| 6  | 2:12  | Approval of Consent Calendar   | В        |  | Villanueva  | See Consent<br>Calendar   |
| 7  | 2:15  | ASFC President Updates to the Academic Senate                                | I        | ASFC President to share current student issues   | Agupugo   |   |
| 8  | 2:20  | Recognize Tenured Faculty  | _        | Congratulate our recently tenured faculty members  | Villanueva  |   |
| 9  | 2:25  | FH 2030 Update   | _        | Update on the Vision Statement<br>Review, and the Educational<br>Master Plan (EMP) Update                        | Quezada,<br>Rawal,<br>Cunnigham                   | • FH 2030<br>Website  |
| 10 | 2:30  | Elections Committee Update   | I        | Provide a progress report on the recruitment of candidates   | Serna, Chan,<br>Rawal                             |   |
| 11 | 2:35  | Progress Regarding Local General Education Requirements                      | I        | Provide an update on local general education requirement   | Kaupp   | <u>CCC Report</u>   |
| 12 | 2:40  | Commencement 2024  | I, D     | Seek faculty representation on commencement committee  | Small,<br>Rodriguez                               |   |
| 13 | 2:45  | Proposal to Equip FHDA Police<br>Officers with Tasers                        | D        | Provide the Senate with an update to gather perspectives for an upcoming senate meeting                          | Marasco   |   |
| 14 | 2:50  | Facilities and Measure G Update  | I, D     | Discuss the reallocation of<br>Measure G District Projects   |   | • MIP-C<br>Presentation   |
|    | 3:00  | BREAK  |          |  |   |   |
| 15 | 3:05  | Resolution Recognizing Sustained<br>Peace and Safety for All Students        | D, A     | Review the amended version of<br>the resolution, discuss revisions<br>since its introduction, and take<br>action | Quezada,<br>Fernandez,<br>Fox, Jinnah,<br>Morriss | <ul> <li>Amended         Resolution     </li> <li>Messages from         the Public</li> </ul> |

| Standing Items |      |   |   |  |            |                                    |
|----------------|------|---|---|--|------------|------------------------------------|
| 16             | 3:47 | For the good of the order (the Senate cannot take action) | В |  | All        | • <u>Hope</u><br><u>Initiative</u> |
| 17             | 3:50 | Close of meeting  | В |  | Villanueva |                                    |

<sup>\*</sup>Times are approximate

# **3.04.24 CONSENT CALENDAR:**

| # | Action                      | Supporting Notes/Materials |
|---|-----------------------------|----------------------------|
| 1 | Approve Senate Appointments | 3.18.24 Consent Calendar   |

# **CALENDAR OF 2023-2024 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS**

| Fall 2023 Quarter     | Winter 2024 Quarter | Spring 2024 Quarter |
|-----------------------|---------------------|---------------------|
| October 2             | January 8           | April 8             |
| October 9             | January 22          | April 22            |
| October 23            | February 5          | May 6               |
| November 6            | February 26         | May 20              |
| November 20           | March 4             | June 3              |
| <del>December 4</del> | March 18            |                     |

### **Remote Attendance Locations:**

- 1. 9500 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, CA
- 2. 12345 El Monte Road, Los Altos Hills, CA, Rm 2720
- 3. 1037 Taft Street, Redwood City, CA 94061

# **DISTRIBUTION:**

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Kristina Whalen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Laurie Scolari (VPSS); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Stacy Gleixner (VPI); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); Laura Wigod (Marketing); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Ron Herman (Dean FA/Comm); Aaron Korngiebel (Dean BSS); Mike Teijeiro (Dean KA); Anthony Cervantes (Interim Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Zachary Cembellin (Interim Dean STEM); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Catalina Rodriguez (Acting Dean of Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Fatima Jinnah (GP Liaison); Natalie Latteri (GP Team Lead); Chris Chavez (GP Team Lead); Hilda Fernandez (GP Team Lead); Dokesha Meacham (GP Team Lead); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Kathryn Maurer (FHDA Academic Senate President); Erik Woodbury (De Anza AS); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Lee Lambert (FHDA Chancellor); Anu Khanna (Senior Advisor to the Chancellor); Nicole Nguyen (Foothill Student Trustee); Adiel Velasquez (Classified Senate President)

<sup>\*\*</sup>Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to the Academic Senate website