

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda Monday, January 8, 2024 2:00 – 3:50 p.m. in the Krause Center for Innovation (4006) and Zoom Meeting ID: 852 6325 9763 Passcode: 907559 Dial by your location: (669) 900-6833 or (408) 638-0968

2023-24 Executive Committee Members (31): Officers: Voltaire Villanueva (President), Patrick Morriss (Executive Vice President), Ben Kaupp (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Stephan Schnell; BSS: Brian Evans, Mona Rawal; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Leticia Serna; DRC/VRC: Ana Maravilla; FA/Comm: Robert Hartwell, Kate Jordahl; HSH: Rachelle Campbell, Frank Niccoli; KA: Kelly Edwards, Katy Ripp; LA: Rocio Giraldez Betron, Stephanie Chan; LRC: Destiny Rivera, Eric Reed; STEM: Sara Cooper; vacant; PT Reps: Roxanne Cnudde, Michael Chang; Other Members: ASFC: Joshua Agupugo; Classified: Adiel Velasquez; FacAssoc: Julie Jenkins; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of COOL: Allison Lenkeit Meezan; Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator(s): Stephanie Chan, Kerri Ryer; Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Stacy Gleixner;

1.08.24 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Торіс	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Villanueva	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda	В		Villanueva	
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)	I			
5	2:10	Approval of 12.04.23 Minutes	В		Villanueva	• <u>December 4,</u> <u>2023</u>
6	2:12	ASFC President Updates to the Academic Senate	I	ASFC President to share current student issues and receive faculty input	Agupugo	
7	2:25	Proposed Amendments to Regular Substantive Interaction (RSI) Documentation Model	D, A	Act on amendments to strengthen RSI model by adding accessibility and flexible learning option and revising the number of hours of training	Meezan	 <u>Model for</u> <u>Documenting RSI -</u> <u>V2</u> <u>COOL RSI</u> <u>Feedback</u>
8	2:40	Low-Cost Course Materials Designation	D	Consider drafting a resolution defining	Holcroft, Villanueva	 Instructional Materials Costs Decision Tree Instructional Materials Explained Adopted ASCCC Resolution: Low- cost Textbook Parameters
	2:55	BREAK				
9	3:00	13-55, Issue 9: Lack of a college- wide retention plan for students of color to progress through their academic career at Foothill		Identify a retention activity to support Foothill's 13-55 project this academic year	Morriss	• <u>Issue 9</u>

10	3:15	Hiring Committee Plan	D	Review current faculty hiring practices and develop recommendations to promote equity, inclusion, and diversity in the hiring process	Morriss, Villanueva	 <u>Faculty Hiring</u> <u>Recommendation</u> <u>Inclusive-Hiring-</u> <u>Practices</u> <u>Recommendations</u> <u>to Promote</u> <u>Equitable and</u> <u>Inclusive Faculty</u> <u>Hiring Practices</u>
11	3:30	Amending the Senate Constitution	D	Consider initiating amendments to the current Academic Senate Constitution and Bylaws	Der Bing, Villanueva	<u>Constitution and</u> <u>Bylaws</u>
12	3:40	Winter Respiratory Illnesses	I	Information sharing on how to mitigate risks through safety protocols	Cormia	
13	3:43	Housing Project Updates	I	Information sharing on the progress of on-campus affordable housing	Reed	

Standing Items						
14	3:47	For the good of the order (the Senate cannot take action)	В		All	
15	3:50	Close of meeting	В		Villanueva	

*Times are approximate

Action Legend: **B=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

***Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to the Academic Senate website

CALENDAR OF 2023-2024 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

Fall 2023 Quarter	Winter 2024 Quarter	Spring 2024 Quarter
October 2	January 8	April 8
October 9	January 22	April 22
October 23	February 5	May 6
November 6	February 26	May 20
November 20	March 4	June 3
December 4	March 18	

Remote Attendance Locations:

1. 9500 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, CA

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Kristina Whalen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Laurie Scolari (VPSS); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Stacy Gleixner (VPI); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); Laura Wigod (Marketing); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Ron Herman (Dean FA/Comm); Aaron Korngiebel (Dean BSS); Mike Teijeiro (Dean KA); Anthony Cervantes (Interim Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Zachary Cembellin (STEM); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Catalina Rodriguez (Acting Dean of Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Fatima Jinnah (GP Liaison); Natalie Latteri (GP Team Lead); Chris Chavez (GP Team Lead); Hilda Fernandez (GP Team Lead); Dokesha Meacham (GP Team Lead); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Kathryn Maurer (FHDA Academic Senate President); Erik Woodbury (De Anza AS); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Lee Lambert (FHDA Chancellor); Anu Khanna (Senior Advisor to the Chancellor); Nicole Nguyen (Foothill Student Trustee); Adiel Velasquez (Classified Senate President)