Foothill College Academic Senate Meeting Agenda September 30th, 2:00 P.M., Toyon Room

ITEM	Attachment	SPEAKER	ACTION	Objective/Outcome
1. Call to Order		Escoto		
2. Roll Call		Cormia		
3. Adoption of agenda			Action	
4. Public comment on items not on agenda (senate cannot discuss or take action)		Public	None	Members of the public may address the senate re: items not on the agenda
5. Approval of Minutes:	ASDraftMinutes6.10.19	Senate	Action	
6. Consent Calendar		Senate	Action	
 Unfinished Business (10+1 area(s) indicated): 			N/A	
8. New Business (10+1 area(s) indicated)				
a. Senate Orientation		Escoto	Info/Discussion	Reps will learn of our responsibility as a senate, and as individual representatives
b. Treasurer Report		Cormia	Info	Reps will learn of current senate finances
c. Law Pathway (1,4)	Law Initiative_OnePage	Garcia	Info/Discussion	Reps will learn of program details so as to feel adequately informed in order to gather constituent feedback re: Law Pathway
d. CVC-OEI Grant Update (1,5,8)		Whitley- Putz	Info/Discussion	Reps will learn of grant related work over the summer
e. Program Review (9)		Escoto/Lisle	Info/Discussion	Reps will be able to articulate overall program review process, as well as understand appointment needs
9. Announcements (limited to 3 minutes, Senate cannot take action)		General/ Public	Information	
10. Adjournment				

Attachments: ASDraftMinutes6.10.19 Law Initiative_OnePage

Consent Calendar:

Academic Senate: Eric Kuehnl (Senate VP/CCC Faculty Co-Chair), Robert Cormia (Senate Secretary/Treasurer), Isaac Escoto (Senate President), Mary Thomas (LIBR), Tracee Cunningham (CNSL), Voltaire Villanueva (CNSL), Jordan Fong (FA/COMM), Joy Holland (FA/COMM), Sara Cooper (BHS/Faculty Association Liaison), Lisa Eshman (BHS), Kathryn Maurer (BSS), Maria Dominguez (BSS), David McCormick (LA), Amber La Piana (LA), David Marasco (PSME), Matthew Litrus (PSME), Mimi Overton (SRC), Donna Frankel (Part Time Rep), Mary Anne Sunseri (Part Time Rep), Rita O'Loughlin (KA/ATHL), Don Mac Neil (KA/ATHL), Carolyn Holcroft (Professional Development Coordinator).

<u>Community and Communication Council</u>: Jordan Fong (faculty tri-chair), Sean Negus (PT rep), Bruce McLeod, Laura Gamez. <u>Equity and Education Council</u>: Carolyn Holcroft (faculty tri-chair), Donna Frankel (PT rep), Patrick Morriss, Cleve Freeman. <u>Revenue and Resources Council</u>: Sara Cooper, Kathy Perino. <u>College Advisory Council</u>: Isaac Escoto (faculty tri-chair), Cheyanne Cortez (PT rep), Preston Ni, Amy Edwards.

College Curriculum Committee: Ché Menses, Hilary Gomes (Fine Arts/Comm), Dokesha Meacham (CNSL), Ben Armerding (LA).

District Diversity and Equity Advisory Committee: Carolyn Holcroft, David Marasco.

Dean of Online Learning Search Committee: Hilary Gomes

Student Grievance/Discipline Panel Pool: Sara Cooper, Maureen Macdougal, Kathy Armstrong, Rosa Nguyen, Kathy Perino, Eta Lin.

<u>Guido Bordignon</u> (Biology) TRC: Amy Edwards, Jeff Schinske. <u>Melissa Wu</u> (Radiologic Technolgy) TRC: Rachelle Campbell <u>Luis Carrillo</u> (Counseling) TRC: Leticia Delgado, Anabel Arreola

Daniel Ngiem TRC: Young Hee Park Lee to replace Debbie Lee.

Committee Needs:

Dean of Online Learning Search Committee (we need 1 or 2 more faculty)

R&R (tri chair, part time faculty) Educational Tech Advisory Committee (1 or 2 faculty) District Budget Advisory Committee (1 or 2 faculty) TRC At-Large appointees

The 10+1

- 1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites
- 2. Degree and certificate requirements
- 3. Grading policies
- 4. Educational program development
- 5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
- 6. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles
- 7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes
- 8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
- 9. Policies for program review
- 10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
- 11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon

2019 - 2020 Academic Senate Meetings

All begin at 2PM and are held in the Toyon Room (2020)

Fall 2016 Quarter:	Winter 2017 Quarter
9/30/19	1/13/19
10/14/19	1/27/19
10/28/19 *joint mtg with DA	2/10/19
11/4/19	2/24/19
11/18/19	3/9/19
12/2/19	

Spring 2017 Quarter

4/6/19* joint meeting with DA 4/13/19 4/27/19 5/11/19 6/1/19 6/15/19 TBD *Annual Planning Retreat

Statewide Information and Opportunities

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) has a variety of listservs to keep faculty apprised of information and opportunities at the state level. All of these are open – e.g. you need not be a senate president join the "senate presidents" list serv. You may find the list at http://www.asccc.org/signup-newsletters

Upcoming ASCCC Events (State Academic Senate)

Distribution:

Eric Kuehnl (Senate VP/CCC Faculty Co-Chair), Robert Cormia (Senate Secretary/Treasurer), Isaac Escoto (Senate President), Mary Thomas (LIBR), Tracee Cunningham (CNSL), Voltaire Villanueva (CNSL), Jordan Fong (FA/COMM), Joy Holland (FA/COMM), Sara Cooper (BHS/Faculty Association Liaison), Lisa Eshman (BHS), Kathryn Maurer (BSS), Maria Dominguez (BSS), David McCormick (LA), Amber La Piana (LA), David Marasco (PSME), Matthew Litrus (PSME), Mimi Overton (SRC), Donna Frankel (Part Time Rep), Mary Anne Sunseri (Part Time Rep), Rita O'Loughlin (KA/ATHL), Don Mac Neil (KA/ATHL), Carolyn Holcroft (Professional Development Coordinator), Kristy Lisle (Cabinet Liaison), Leonardo Blas(ASFC President)

CC: Karen Chow (De Anza Academic Senate President), Thuy Nguyen (College President), Tim Shively (FA President), Mike Mohebi (Classified Senate President)