# Foothill College Academic Senate Meeting Agenda October 28, 2019, 2 P.M., Toyon Room

ITEM	Attachment	SPEAKE R	ACTION	Objective/Outco me
1. Call to Order		Escoto		-
2. Roll Call		Cormia		
3. Adoption of agenda			Action	
4. Public comment on items not on agenda (senate cannot discuss or take action)		Public	None	Members of the public may address the senate re: items not on the agenda
5. Approval of Minutes:	ASDraftMinutes10.14.1	Senate	Action	
6. Consent Calendar		Senate	Action	
7. Unfinished Business (10+1 area(s) indicated):			N/A	
a) Law Pathway (1,4)	AS_LawInitiative (1)[2][5]	Senate	Discussion/Action	Constituent feedback discussion. Decide on response to requested letter of support.
b) LRC Division Proposal (10)	TutorialRedesign_Senat e.v6	Senate	Discussion	Discuss constituent feedback, and how to best advise Advisory Council faculty reps.
8. New Business (10+1 area(s) indicated)				
a. BP/AP 3518 Child Abuse Reporting	Draft_AP 3518 Child Abuse Reporting_New_101819A PM Draft_BP 3518 Child Abuse Reporting_New	Escoto	Info/1st Read	Reps will review in preparation for sharing with constituents for feedback.
b. Fall 2019 Plenary Resolutions	Pre-session Resolutions F19 for Thursday Discussion	Escoto	Information	Reps will have an opportunity to discuss/ask questions re: resolutions, in preparation for sharing with constituents.
c. Online Course Quality Research Study	2019_Online Course Quality Research Report	Stefonik	Information/Discus sion	Reps will learn of study results, plan possible next steps.
9. Announcements (limited to 3 minutes, Senate cannot take action). a. Senate Constitu tion		General / Public	Information	

# **Attachments**:

ASDraftMinutes10.14.19
AS\_LawInitiative (1)[2][5]
TutorialRedesign\_Senate.v6
Draft\_AP 3518 Child Abuse Reporting\_New\_101819APM
Draft\_BP 3518 Child Abuse Reporting\_New
Pre-session Resolutions F19 for Thursday Discussion
2019\_Online Course Quality Research Report

## **Consent Calendar:**

Committee On Online Learning: Kathryn Maurer, Anan Sturgess, Ben Stefonik (chair), Kerri Ryer, Allison Meezan, Natasha Mancuso, Alexis Aguilar, Brian Evans, Steve Batham, Carolyn Brown, Cheyanne Cortez, Ron Herman, Elizabeth Barkley, Hilary Gomes, Patricia Crespo Martin, Bita Mazloom, Sarah Williams, Rick Martinez, Guido Bordignon, Baba Kofi Weusijana, Paul Szponar, Eleazar Jimenez, Amy Sarver

Program Review Readers: Voltaire Villanueva

**ACEFA**: Laurence Lew

### **Committee Needs:**

R&R full time faculty rep District Budget Advisory Committee (1 or 2 faculty) ACEFA (1 faculty)

#### The 10+1

- 1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites
- 2. Degree and certificate requirements
- 3. Grading policies
- 4. Educational program development
- 5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
- 6. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles
- 7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes
- 8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
- 9. Policies for program review
- 10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
- 11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon

# 2019 -2020 Academic Senate Meetings

All begin at 2PM and are held in the Toyon Room (2020)

Fall 2019 Quarter:	Winter 2020 Quarter	Spring 2020 Quarter
9/30/19	1/13/20	$4/6/20^*$ joint meeting with DA
10/14/19	1/27/20	4/13/20
10/28/19	2/10/20	4/27/20
$11/4/19^*$ joint mtg with DA	2/24/20	5/11/20
11/18/19	3/9/20	6/1/20

# **Statewide Information and Opportunities**

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) has a variety of listservs to keep faculty apprised of information and opportunities at the state level. All of these are open – e.g. you need not be a senate president join the "senate presidents" list serv. You may find the list at <a href="http://www.asccc.org/signup-newsletters">http://www.asccc.org/signup-newsletters</a>

## Distribution:

Eric Kuehnl (Senate VP/CCC Faculty Co-Chair), Robert Cormia (Senate Secretary/Treasurer), Isaac Escoto (Senate President), Mary Thomas (LIBR), Tracee Cunningham (CNSL), Voltaire Villanueva (CNSL), Jordan Fong (FA/COMM), Sara Cooper (BHS/Faculty Association Liaison), Lisa Eshman (BHS), Kathryn Maurer (BSS), Maria Dominguez (BSS), David McCormick (LA), Amber La Piana (LA), David Marasco (PSME), Matthew Litrus (PSME), Mimi Overton (SRC), Donna Frankel (Part Time Rep), Mary Anne Sunseri (Part Time Rep), Rita O'Loughlin (KA/ATHL), Dixie. Macias (KA/ATHL), Carolyn Holcroft (Professional Development Coordinator), Kristy Lisle (Cabinet Liaison), Leonardo Blas (ASFC President)

CC: Karen Chow (De Anza Academic Senate President), Thuy Nguyen (College President), Tim Shively (FA President), Mike Mohebi (Classified Senate President)