President

John Stanskas San Bernardino Valley College

Vice President Dolores Davison Foothill College

Secretary Craig Rutan Santiago Canyon College

TreasurerVirginia "Ginni" May
Sacramento City College

Area A Representative Geoffrey Dyer Taft College

Area B Representative Conan McKay Mendocino College

Area C Representative Rebecca Eikey College of the Canyons

Area D Representative Samuel Foster Fullerton College

North Representative Cheryl Aschenbach Lassen College

North Representative Carrie Roberson Butte College

South Representative LaTonya Parker Moreno Valley College

South Representative Anna Bruzzese Los Angeles Pierce College

Representative at Large Mayra Cruz De Anza College

Representative at Large Silvester Henderson Los Medanos College

Executive Director Vacant

Subject: The Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award

The Academic Senate is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award, sponsored again this year by the Foundation for California Community Colleges. This award seeks to honor the cadre of committed faculty who consistently rise to meet the challenges our student's face. Serving the most diverse student population of any higher education system in the country, the California Community College System is largely comprised of demographic groups that have traditionally faced barriers to education and are often underprepared when they reach the classroom. It is the challenge and responsibility of California community college faculty to demonstrate the sustained attention and support necessary to fully engage and excite these students. This prestigious award acknowledges an individual or group that is exceptional in contributing to the advancement of intercultural harmony, equity, and campus diversity at their college.

Basic Information:

- Each college may nominate one faculty member or one group of faculty.
- The winner receives a cash award of \$5,000.
- All faculty are eligible: Full-time and part-time, classroom and non-classroom.
- The completed application must be received in the Academic Senate Office by 5:00 p.m. on February 11, 2019.

Enclosed are the application and criteria. <u>Please note, the applicant's name or college cannot be listed in the application unless stated otherwise.</u> Any applications that include the candidate's name or college will be disqualified. A minimum of three nominations per area must be received for the selection process to proceed.

Please submit one original and one copy of your entire application via email or mail. FAX applications will not be accepted. Submit mail applications to: One Capitol Mall, Suite 340, Sacramento, CA 95814. Scanned applications must have the appropriate signatures and be emailed to awards@asccc.org. The Senate Office will notify you via email that your application was received.

The selection process will be completed by March 8, 2019. The award recipient will be honored at the 2019 Spring Plenary Session on April 12, 2019, in Millbrae, California. Please note, that the recipients of this award will be asked to submit a current photo. Although only one faculty recipient or group will be honored, we hope each college will honor its individual nominee.

Yours collegially,

Krystinne Mica

Chief Operating Officer

Enclosures (4)