

# Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda Manday May 20, 2024

Monday, May 20, 2024

2:00-3:50 p.m. in the Krause Center for Innovation (4006) and  $\underline{Zoom}$ 

Meeting ID: 852 6325 9763 Passcode: 907559

Dial by your location: (669) 900-6833 or (408) 638-0968

2023-24 Executive Committee Members (31): Officers: Voltaire Villanueva (President), Patrick Morriss (Executive Vice President), Ben Kaupp (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Stephan Schnell; BSS: Brian Evans, Mona Rawal; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Leticia Serna; DRC/VRC: Ana Maravilla; FA/Comm: Robert Hartwell, Kate Jordahl; HSH: Rachelle Campbell, Brenda Hanning; KA: Rita O'Loughlin, Dixie Macias; LA: Rocio Giraldez Betron, Stephanie Chan; LRC: Destiny Rivera, Eric Reed; STEM: Sara Cooper; vacant; PT Reps: Roxanne Cnudde, Michael Chang; Other Members: ASFC: Joshua Agupugo; Classified: Adiel Velasquez; FacAssoc: Julie Jenkins; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of COOL: Allison Lenkeit Meezan; Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator(s): Stephanie Chan, Kerri Ryer; Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Stacy Gleixner;

## 5.20.24 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Villanueva	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda	В		Villanueva	
4	2:05	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)	I			
5	2:10	Approval of 5.6.24 Minutes	В		Villanueva	• May 6, 2024
6	2:12	Approval of Consent Calendar	В		Villanueva	See Consent Calendar
7	2:15	ASFC President Updates to the Academic Senate	I	ASFC President to share current student issues	Agupugo	
8	2:20	Vison Statement Update	I	Inform the senate on the progress of the vision statement and to solicit feedback	Cunningham , Rawal	• <u>Vision Update</u> (slides)
9	2:30	Housing	I	Inform the senate on the progress of campus housing	Reed	<ul> <li>Survey (link)</li> <li>Student and Faculty/Staff</li> <li>Housing Planning and Implementation (02/2024)</li> <li>Student and Employee</li> <li>Housing Planning and Implementation (04/2024)</li> <li>Brailsford &amp; Dunlavey Feasibility Study for Student Housing</li> </ul>

10	2:40	AY 2024-25 Schedule Planning	I, D	Review and discuss part-time faculty costs for the next academic year	Hueg	
	3:00	BREAK				
11	3:05	Accreditation Update	I	Report out on findings of the peer review team that conducted a Team ISER Review on March 19, 2024	Kuo, Villanueva	<ul><li>Core Inquiries (slides)</li><li>Core Inquiries Report</li></ul>
12	3:15	Opening Day PD for continuous improvement in teaching and learning	I, D	Faculty input on integrated professional development/ Opening Day	Meezan, Holcroft	• Resolution on continuous improvement in teaching
13	3:25	BP 5110	D, A	Review the newly drafted Board Policy regarding Counseling Services in order to retire BP 5065 (First read)	Villanueva	<ul><li>BP 5110</li><li>BP 5065</li></ul>
14	3:27	Constitution and Bylaws Revision	I, D, A	Recommend proposed updates to the Senate Constitution to reflect current practices (Second Read) and introduce proposed bylaws if constitutional amendments are adopted	Morriss	<ul><li>Constitutional Amendments</li><li>Proposed Bylaws</li></ul>
15	3:37	13-55: Strategic Vision for Equity Issue 7	1	Provide updates in supporting the retention of students	Morriss,	
16	3:40	Curriculum updates	1	Report out on revised local general education requirements	Kaupp, Gilstrap	<u>CCC Local GE</u> <u>Revisions</u>
17	3:45	Nominations for District Academic Senate President	I, D	Solicit names for the appointment of District Senate President	Villanueva	FHDA District     Academic     Senate     Responsibilities     (link)
18	3:50	Resolution on Sustained Dialogues (SD)	D, A	Introduce a resolution supporting conscious and appropriate spaces to engage in difficult conversations (Second read)	Campbell, Fong, Kaupp, Vega	<ul><li><u>Draft Resolution</u></li><li><u>SD Tools</u></li></ul>

Standing Items						
19	3:57	For the good of the order (the	В		All	
		Senate cannot take action)				
20	4:00	Close of meeting	В		Villanueva	

<sup>\*</sup>Times are approximate

# **5.06.24 CONSENT CALENDAR:**

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials
1	Approve Senate Appointments	5.20.24 Consent Calendar

<sup>\*\*</sup>Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action (Actions typically require an agenda topic to have had two "reads" by the Executive Committee in order to allow for constituent input.)

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to the Academic Senate website

#### CALENDAR OF 2023-2024 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

Fall 2023 Quarter	Winter 2024 Quarter	Spring 2024 Quarter
<del>October 2</del>	January 8	April 8
October 9	<del>January 22</del>	April 22
October 23	February 5	May 6
November 6	February 26	May 20
November 20	March 4	June 3
<del>December 4</del>	March 18	

## **Remote Attendance Locations:**

1. 9500 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, CA 92093

#### **DISTRIBUTION:**

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Kristina Whalen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Laurie Scolari (VPSS); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Stacy Gleixner (VPI); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); Laura Wigod (Marketing); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Ron Herman (Dean FA/Comm); Aaron Korngiebel (Dean BSS); Mike Teijeiro (Dean KA); Anthony Cervantes (Interim Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Zachary Cembellin (Interim Dean STEM); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Catalina Rodriguez (Acting Dean of Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Fatima Jinnah (GP Liaison); Natalie Latteri (GP Team Lead); Chris Chavez (GP Team Lead); Hilda Fernandez (GP Team Lead); Dokesha Meacham (GP Team Lead); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Kathryn Maurer (FHDA Academic Senate President); Erik Woodbury (De Anza AS); Patrick Ahrens (Board of Trustees); Lee Lambert (FHDA Chancellor); Anu Khanna (Senior Advisor to the Chancellor); Nicole Nguyen (Foothill Student Trustee); Adiel Velasquez (Classified Senate President)

Foothill College Academic Senate Agenda 5.6.24

Page 3 of 3